Seeking Wise Counsel

HannahG

Good afternoon all:

I am brand new to the forum! I am seeking some advice, but my situation is a bit odd to be honest. I am a physician (pediatric resident planning a fellowship) and have a PhD in Bioethics from a state university. I do research on end of life issues, early phase clinical trials, and professional responsibility and conscience formation. I have recently had a conversion experience. I grew up Catholic but had only a marginal faith. The Lord has been patiently helping me grow in love of him and his word. I have developed a real interest in interpreting the Old Testament and New Testament in search of timeless wisdom on bioethical questions. I want to dive deep into the original languages and do rigorous scholarship. Secondarily, I would like some training in theological Ethics and church history, as so much of the reactions to contemporary questions are bound up in the human circumstances of the time. I can only consider non-traditional options and distance learning at this juncture. Theologically, I am quite open. I currently attend both Catholic mass and a non-denominational service each week. I had my conversion experience at the non-denominational church. 

These are the options I’ve considered but am open to your wisdom:

BD University of London and then a research masters in the UK (Birmingham, Aberdeen, etc.)

Gordon Conwell or Dallas for Biblical languages and OT/NT

Someone advised me that Fuller is good for Ethics, and they have a concentration I think.

I am open to Catholic institutions but haven’t found distance learning options.

I am a single woman so would appreciate a supportive environment. However, I am not called to pastoral ministry!!

I am very lucky to have no educational debt, and I do not plan to rely on theological training for my income. However, I would like to contribute as a physician researcher.

Thanks for your help! I hope to return the favor!!

Edited by HannahG