CMU MSPPM-DA (Video Interview)

ShirVer

Hi guys!

Last week I received the link for a video interview with regard to the application for CMU's MSPPM-DA track. Although, it's optional, it's highly recommended for international students. I am an international student and do not even have a good Speaking score in TOEFL (24). I am really worried and nervous as well thinking about whether appearing for this will increase my chances or worsen it. Those who've already given this interview, could you please help me understand how was your experience and whether I should take this (in your opinion)? 

The format looks like this: a short video to ask the question, 20 seconds to prepare your response, and then one minute to actually give it.

They were pretty typical behavioral interview questions. Think things like "Tell me about a time you worked on a team." (this wasn't an actual question I had, but should give you a good idea).

I understand your concern, but I would recommend doing the video interview. I think they really stress it as their own way of validating people's communication skills if they haven't met them. For example, I know someone that was able to visit campus in the fall and they told them that since they had met in person, there was no need to do the video interview. Since neither of us was able to make it on campus, I think they would strongly prefer if we did it. There's a reason they highly recommend it for international students.

Good luck!

• 11 months later...

I submitted my application (DA track) on January 10 too, a little before midnight.  I received an email the next morning with a link to respond to the interview prompt.  I'm not sure why processing times are different, but as woolscarves said, it sounds unlikely that it has any effect on your chances of admission.