PhD in Linguistics or MSc in CompLing

goldengua

Hi, I just got a PhD offer in Linguistics at University of Kansas and MSc in computational linguistics at Brandeis University. I am an undergraduate in linguistics with some trainings in computer science, and I am interested in computational psycholinguistics.

The PhD program at Kansas University is great, good supervisor and funding package. However, I am attracted to both psycholinguistics and computational linguistics and KU only has psycholinguistic track.  

While I am still waiting for a few master program in computational linguistics, I was wondering if a master program in computational linguistics will give a good preparation for PhD application next year. I think it is always good to learn some programming and statistics, and it might bring a job in the industry. I am just concerned that what if I find myself more suitable for linguistic research but cannot get an offer as good as KU in the future?

I really appreciate any advice! Thanks so much.

I know nothing about linguistics, but finding a good supervisor with a good funding package for a PhD program sounds better than doing a masters program and then trying again.  You can always learn computer skills on the side and try to integrate it into your research!

Brandeis sounds like a cool place to study though (I'd rather live in Boston than Kansas).

• 2 weeks later...