Looking For The Right 'Fit'

Hey,

New here. 

I'm currently in my last year of a B.A in Australia (2 semesters to go!) and would like to apply for study in North America (Ph.D. in English Literature). However, I don't know what schools to apply to. My primary interests are 20th century British & North American literature, with a special focus on how the Cold War and post-World War II landscape is perceived through speculative fiction (in particular, science fiction- alternative history and dystopias). I've always had an interest in warfare, politics and international relations. My second major is Modern History, after all. Secondary literary interests are modernism versus postmodernism; banned & controversial literature, film, individualism, the role of children in fiction, and trauma.

If I do go down a Ph.D. route- I'd want to study novels, films, poetry, graphic novels, and radio plays. Ideally, a graduate program would support those interests. I can imagine discussing the politics of Ayn Rand, Margaret Atwood, or George Orwell.

The problem is that a lot of interesting work in science fiction is done in the UK- where it's impossible for me to get funding or assistantships. There's the University of Kansas- but I don't want to put all my eggs in one basket. I'm looking for recommendations of other schools that could potentially be a good 'fit' for me- or ways I could find a good school myself. I guess I feel overwhelmed, as a potential international student- there are so many universities to research. If anyone has tips on how to simplify this process, please tell me! 

As I haven't finished my degree and Australia has different grading- I won't post my GPA. I haven't sat the GRE either (aiming for a September exam). If anyone has any school recommendations- please let me know. It doesn't matter what they are ranked, if you believe they are reputable I'd appreciate it.