NC State or VTech for Aerospace Engineering

kbrook0917

Hey everyone I recently got accepted to NC state and Virginia tech for a masters of science in aerospace engineering. I know that the department of aerospace engineering is rated much higher at VT than at NC State and I think I prefer who I would be working under at VT possibly more than at State, but I think I like the Raleigh area more as well as the campus and I will have to fight for funding at both places in the upcoming fall and I am in state for NC state. I also understand that I will only be at the school for two years and I am there to learn not be out and about all the time. Still I was wondering what everyone else's thoughts about the two schools were and if anyone could add some input to help me decide.

• 3 weeks later...

Congratulations on your acceptance. As someone who is in some boat of choosing a PhD program in aerospace engineering (I am deciding between Virginia Tech and other schools too). My background is in aerodynamics and structural dynamics so I can give you some input:-

1. Both schools have strong experimental facilities but in different areas. NC state specializes in aerodynamics (more towards high-speed flows) and Virginia Tech in aeroacoustics (amazing facility).

2. Virginia Tech has strong aeroelasticity (structural dynamics) research groups.

3. Blacksburg is an isolated town whereas Raleigh is more of a big city so you could choose according to your preference.

4. Both schools are well respected, even though Virginia Tech is slightly higher, it depends on what would like to do with your MS degree. You can continue for a PhD at both places, though funding might slightly easier at Virginia Tech. In terms of job, Virginia Tech might present better opportunities based on what current students and alumni have told me but I don't know much about NC state. 

5. Most importantly it depends upon what area you would like to specialize in.