1 Prof vs overall department

Shiryatsya

Okay so first off I am a chemistry student. I visited a bunch of grad schools and have it narrowed down to two.

School 1:

Pros

My favorite professor at any school I visited. He has great placement into both industry and the academic world, his group was big but had more than enough funding to support it and publishes like mad in a sub field I'm very interested in. He is taking grad student this summer, and told me if I come to School 1 I could join his group assuming I was able to secure funding for summer research (which the school said it would provide) and it went at least moderately well (eg I get along with his current group members, his lab has a high enough learning curve that he doesn't expect much data only positive reviews from other grad students)

Cons

No one else I'm super interested in. There are people I could work for but I'm not sure how happy I would be there. So if something falls through with the first professor

It's way colder. Maybe this is a stupid thing to bring up, but I've lived in a warm climate for a few years now and much prefer it.

The other grad students. While I liked the ones in my favorite professor's group the other ones a I met I didn't really click with (granted I didn't meet that many)

School 2:

Pros

Has three professors I could be happy working with, all of them place pretty well into industry but none of them place well into academia (I have not yet decided on my plans for after grad school, so while this may not be a problem I'm trying to keep my options open). They all publish, but not nearly as much as the professor at school 1.

Great campus +warmer than school 1

Didn't click perfectly with all the grad students, but met a lot of them and could see myself there and being happy with these people.

Cons

The Professor I want to work for the most isn't there

Neutral:

Both schools have offered me very nice funding, and I really liked the surrounding area at both.