Being hard in a decision making situation.

Lena Xu

Hello, I am new here. I hope to seek some advice from you guys if possible, and I would be very grateful for your help, and also, thank you very much for sparing me the time!

I am an international student. I have received several offers from American universities. Now it is near the time to make my final decision. I will do a TESOL program. Among the offers I have got, I am most interested in 3 universities: NYU, Rochester and Penn State. 

I am interested in foreign language teaching and research, and also, applied linguistics. I hope to pursue a doctoral degree in the future. I haven't had any language teaching experience and my undergraduate major is English and Psychology. 

The TESOL program in NYU is a MA degree. It stresses more in practice, to equip students to be professional in teaching. Therefore, it provides abundant fieldwork opportunities. However, it doesn't have paper or thesis requirement. In my view, thesis experience is an important factor in application for a PhD program, right? But students could take extra electives or attend Post-Master program which will prepare them to apply for a PhD program in other schools as the PhD program at NYU is very competitive. That means I will have to spend more time and more money in it. Does it worth? The good thing about it is the overall ranking of the university and its education department are at the top level. Their faculty in this program also are very great. Is it an advantage to my future studies and career? Does it worth to pay a lot of money to do that? Is it helpful to my future application for a PhD program?