I need some advice. (Engineering)

ysznl

Hello everyone!

I am a sophomore student and transfered to a top 10 engineering school in US. I really want to go to the best engineering schools (like MIT) for my MS/PhD. So is there anybody who wants to share your experience with me? I just want to know which factors can determine the application results. I know that GPA is the most important, but how about the other factors, like publication and GRE? Is publication a must? Does the publication which I am just involved in but not the first-author count? And which is more important, GPA or publication?

Thanks!

You'll quickly learn that there is no "most important" factor in a grad school application. GPA is important yes, but outstanding achievements like publications will certainly help along the way. I can give you one piece of advice I wish some one gave me in my sophmore year though and that's to network...network network network...

I don't know if you got this when applying to competitive schools for undergrad, where someone would ask, "If I want to get into your school, should I take the honors class and get a B, or take the regular class and get an A?" The reply was, invariably, "You should take the honors class and get an A." I think the same is probably true for admission into the most competitive grad schools...try to have a high GPA and a publication! You don't have to be first author, and even conference proceedings help.