Online MSW: Am I Qualified?

oruano

Hi everyone,

I'm a new graduate at the University of Michigan (B.A in Sociology) and wanted to know if anyone had experience applying to online MSW programs. Mainly I'm interested in knowing how the programs were and whether I'm qualified to be applying to many of the schools I have listed below. Unfortunately I have a lower GPA of 2.9 and don't have any work experience within the social work field. However,  I have continuously improved my grades throughout my college career (it started out rough) and have been a part of multiple organizations that promote social work. How would I fare applying to these schools?

- Portland State University

- Western New Mexico University

- University of Central Florida

Any input or advice is greatly appreciated!!

You won’t know unless you apply. I had a 2.9 undergrad GPA too. I’ve been accepted into top 25 schools. I am a veteran with multiple deployments to Afghanistan so I think that helped. I also had a 3.75 in graduate work. MSW programs look at the whole student from what I’ve read. 

But seriously, you won’t know unless you apply. 

33 minutes ago, Otter13 said:

You won’t know unless you apply. I had a 2.9 undergrad GPA too. I’ve been accepted into top 25 schools. I am a veteran with multiple deployments to Afghanistan so I think that helped. I also had a 3.75 in graduate work. MSW programs look at the whole student from what I’ve read. 

But seriously, you won’t know unless you apply. 

This. I also think having work or volunteer experience in a related field would help your case tremendously. But you never know until you try. I got into Columbia last year with little relevant experience, but my GPA was also 3.5.