HDS (NT) vs KU Leuven (Biblical Studies)

Euangellion

Hi all,

I’m in a confusing situation and I was hoping that I could get some advice. I’ve got offers from HDS (MTS in NT and Early Xtianity) and KU Leuven in Belgium (2 year Master’s program in Biblical Studies). I was also given funding at HDS (full tuition, 7k stipend). The faculty of theology at Leuven will get back to me on funding by May. I should mention that I’m an International student from a third world country who’s never been to the US or Belgium before. So I’m somewhat in the dark about how certain things work in those countries. I also plan on doing doctoral work hopefully in the US or Canada.

My questions then are:

1) Which program is likely to provide better academic preparation for doctoral work at a top tier institution in North America? Are both programs on the same level? And overall, what are the major differences between the American and European educational systems at the Master’s level? From what I can tell, both institutions seem to have reputable scholars in the field (Verheyden/Bieringer at Leuven; Nasrallah/Bazzana/King at HDS). And the interests of scholars at both institutions overlap with mine. 

2) Which program is likely to cost more overall? As I mentioned before, I’m an international student which means that even with HDS’s generous offer I still need to demonstrate that I can support myself financially. HDS says I need to have about $22,000 and I from what I hear, Cambridge is a very expensive city to live in. At KU Leuven I need to have at least €9200 to secure a visa. But again, I’ve been told that in reality, that amount won’t be nearly enough to cover costs in the city of Leuven.

I’m really torn between both institutions and would really appreciate it if anyone with knowledge of any or both programs/cities could offer any advice.

If you want to better position yourself for a PhD program in North America then HDS is your only option.