PhD Program on China's FP

dpan

Hello all,

I need some advice. I am doing a PhD in Cold War History and after finishing my dissertation I intend to seek a second PhD in IR in the United States. My age is under 30 and my background is the following:

-BA at a University in Southern Europe.
-MA in Contemporary History at the same University (grade is 10/10).

-PhD Candidate in Contemporary History at the same University. Archival research in many archives in the US, UK, Brussels and elsewhere.

Visiting Researcher with full funding at top UK University.

Fulbright Visiting Researcher, sponsored by a top political scientist.

I have published three book chapters and I work on two papers. I speak two foreign languages.

I have no quantitative skills and have not taken the GRE yet.

I am interested in doing research on China's foreign policy and security and I will try to take language courses in China. I would like to apply to: Columbia, UPenn and University of Michigan. I would love to work with Iain Johnston, but I consider Harvard impossible.

Could anyone give me any honest feedback and/or useful advice?

Thank you in advance!

• 4 weeks later...

Hi dpan! I would apply broadly since getting into any single program is tough. Michigan, Columbia, and even Penn are as hard to get into as Harvard. UCSD, MIT, and many others ought to be on your target list.

Committees will likely ask themselves why you want a second Ph.D. and you will need to provide a super compelling reason. One concern will be that they'll invest a lot of time and money in you and you'll decide you don't like political science either. 

I would suggest brushing up on quantitative skills and if possible take classes while you're still enrolled in your current program.

Good luck!

2 minutes ago, encyclopediabrown said: