Help with MA Course Selection/PhD Application Profile

Hello everyone,

I'm asking for help with course selection, as I'm a bit of a atypical student and I want to maximize my odds of making it into my ideal program(s).

About me:

I did my BA at McMaster University (a Canadian university not known for the humanities or social sciences) in History and Classics, with a minor in French. During my first two years of university, I had no clue who I was or what I was doing. I did fine in my first year, but my grades in second year definitely have hurt me.Things started to change during my 3rd year when I did an exchange to the University of Lyon in France. Long story short, I started to take an interest in my education and finally put in some effort. By my 4th and 5th year, I was at or near the top of my class in both my major courses and my electives. Still, despite posting a GPA over 3.9 in my final 2 years, my overall GPA was a 3.57.

Having discovered my passion for education and realizing that I have some potential, I decided to pursue an MA in History. I got into McGill and the University of Toronto, 2 of the top 3 schools in Canada. I ended up choosing McGill because of the location. Though I have enjoyed my time at McGill, I do regret my decision to some degree. I realize now that the added prestige of UofT (it ranks about 20-30 spots higher than McGill) would have helped me down the road. Even so, McGill is no slouch, and depending on how things skake out as my MA in History comes to completion, it looks like I'll have a grad GPA between 3.83 and 3.95.