Looking for Guidance: Global Mental Health focus with a license

RWA529

Hi guys, I'm feeling slightly confused about options right now, and I was hoping to get some guidance.

My background:

-I have about 6 years of work experience (3 years that are directly relevant to a psych program!) and my MPH

-I have a strong interest in Global mental health work, stemming from my master's program, as well as from professional experience (currently working in the global development field)

-I am increasingly interested in the idea of going back for a PhD, in order to really develop an expertise in this area (My dream job would be to be affiliated with a university, or a multi-lateral organization doing some kind of applied research and/or policy writing

That all being said....I went through an extensive period of unemployment, and I also know one too many desperate, unemployed PhDs out there, so going back for a purely research based degree seems very scary to me and essentially like a non-starter.

I do have a year of counseling experience, and I discovered to my surprise that I actually liked that quite a bit. I don't think I  would be satisfied only doing counseling, but it would be great to end up in a place where I could see clients part time and do research/policy part time.

So, the question is, where does this leave me in terms of grad school options? 

It seems like the options are:

1. Apply for a  research PhD in Psychology or in Global Health etc. (Also thinking about Medical anthro as an option) And then do a quick counseling MA that would let me get my license, on top of that. This feels...excessive to me.  Also doing another masters is an option, but considering I still have loans from my MPH, I would rather do a PhD where I would have a chance at full funding.

2.  Apply for a Clinical PhD and just make sure it's a program that has a global focus. I'm finding that it easier said than done to find programs like this that fit the bill.