Advice for 2020 college graduate

goghwithit

Stumbled across this forum in the midst of a search for general guidance about what to do after I graduate college next May. I am currently a summer intern at MoMA, so although I am extremely blessed to have landed this opportunity, I am -- in my usual nature -- anxious about next steps. Colleagues have told me that I should reach out in January and ask for help with job opportunities, or some have told me to take the summer off after graduation and wait until August to begin the search, as less graduates will be on the job hunt at that time. I have considered many different tracks -- i.e., taking the GRE next summer so I could be prepared to apply for MA programs, or spending a year teaching in France (I am an Art History and French major). I was wondering if anyone has any advice about initiatives I can take in the coming months to help this job search or begin to narrow down the routes I could take after graduating. Thank you!!

• 3 weeks later...

following this...

I'm also going to graduate in May 2020 (art history, studio) and I am freaking out over what to do once I graduate!

A lot of people I've talked to (thesis advisor, recent grads, current masters students) really push taking time off after graduating and wait on applying to MAs or PhDs.  Part of their reasoning is to further develop my research interests/languages but also a lot seem to think the odds are really low for someone straight out of undergrad to be accepted into a top grad program.