committee on social thought, u. chicago

thomasf

Anybody else applied here? Anybody even heard of this program?

I emailed the dept. and they said they were sending out mail this week but didn't tell me what my status was...any chance anyone out there has already heard via email/phone? I'm wondering whether these will only be rejection notices and thus uneccessary torture to anticipate...

I've heard of it. I almost applied to that program my first time around two years ago because I was looking for something with a bit of a broader interdisciplinary focus (as an undergrad i had an english and art double major and a philosophy minor and I wasn't wanting to "give any of them up" to go into a straight English or philosophy program). However, I missed the deadline (it was pretty early like Dec 1 or something). My philosophy prof told me it was the next up and coming thing, so to speak, and that it was intensely competitive to get into and a highly-coveted degree to have. I really like the program from what I've heard about it.

No info for you about applying this year... but best of luck, if you get in I'm sure you'll love it like crazy. I'll have my fingers crossed for ya.

that's very interesting...while my profs were very enthusiastic about this program they didn't mention anything about it being competitive and I've heard from other sources that they're ambivalent about it mostly because it's an interdisciplinary degree. But I know I would be very happy there indeed, and in fact I may have formulated my interests as too interdisciplinary for other programs so here's hoping.

Guest fifty07

I've heard of it. I applied to the MAPSS program and have not heard anything yet. I just want to know already!

Guest magicjohnson

are you people fucking kidding me? uchicago's committee on social thought is old, (in)famous, ridiculously difficult to get into and just as hard to finish. jeez.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Committee_ ... al_Thought