Both professors aren't answering my recommendation letter requests!!! What should I do?

meghanx0919

I have graduated last year with a B.S. in biology and since then I have working in industry as a microbiology. I am applying to various PhD programs in microbiology for next fall. I have already asked my boss (who is the director of the lab) for a letter of recommendation and she said yes, I am very confident she will write me a strong letter. I was a lab tech originally and she promoted me to be a microbiologist in the company when only working there for 3 months and would be a great advocate for me. I still need two more letters of recommendation.

The second letter I emailed a professor I did a directed study with my senior year of undergrad and she helped me a lot to prepare me for applying to graduate school and general advice. I emailed her in the middle of august (a very formal email updating her with what I have been doing since graduating and if she can write me a letter) and she hasn't replied. I sent her a follow up email a week later and STILL NO REPLY!!. I am stressed she will never answer me and it is crucial she writes me a letter since on my resume and my application I will talk about working with her. I am also surprised she hasn't answered. I don't know if I should send her another follow up email and if she doesn't answer to call her office?? Would it even be appropriate to call a professors office?