My University's GPA calculation system is fucked up

Adam Syammas Zaki

Hello,

Currently I'm studying in Tohoku University which, I believe, one of the top Universities in Japan. When it comes to education system, Japan is pretty different from the rest of other countries. I am planning to apply to several top universities in United States which are, indisputably, very competitive. I have a 3.66 GPA which, I think, is pretty mediocre. However, getting 3.65 GPA in my university is by no mean mediocre. The way how my GPA calculated in detail is as follow.

GPA = (Sum of {credit *grade}) / (Sum of {credit})

What messed up in my opinion  is the way how the grade is given. In each course, which typically has 2-4 credits, we have four kinds of grade. 

AA = approx. 90% of maximum score in a course = 4.0 out of 4.0

A   = approx. 80% of maximum score in a course = 3.0 out of 4.0

B   = approx. 70% of maximum score in a course = 2.0 out of 4.0

C   = approx. 60% of maximum score in a course = 1.0 out of 4.0

D   = below. 60% of maximum score in a course = fail

The gap between AA and A is huge  in term of GPA. I got AAs of almost 68% of my total credit, while the rest of them are As except one course which I got B. The average student only got 3.2 ~ 3.3 out of 4.  How do I justify my GPA? The University has an official document explaining how they calculate the cumulative GPA. Should I include this document along with my transcript? 

Perhaps you can look into this. I used the WES yearsssss ago because my secondary school did not use GPAs and I was applying to do University in the US. My high school grades were like 60s, which is a fail in the US, but equivalent to a B in my country. When WES converted all my grades, I only had As and Bs. They do take into consideration the quality and difficulty of the education, I believe.