Fall 2020 Biostats/Survey Methodology Profile

remillion

I am planning on applying to MS (maybe possibly PhD if there is a chance) programs in biostats and PhD programs in survey methodology.

1. Do I have a chance at any PhD programs in biostats, if I can get my GRE score up?

2. How badly is the C- in Mathematical Statistics going to hurt? My school won't let me retake it for a grade.

Also I was accepted into on accelerated MS track at UMass Amherst last year

Undergrad Institution: USNWR 30-35 LAC

Major: Statistics and Psychology

GPA: 3.72

Student: Domestic Asian Female

Courses: placed out of Calc I, Calc 2 (A), Calc 3 (A-), Linear Algebra (B+), Discrete Math (A), Probability (A-), Mathematical Statistics (C-), Survey Sampling (A) , Introduction to Statistics (A), Intermediate Statistics (A-), Design and Analysis of Experiments (A), Applied Regression methods (currently taking) 

GRE: 156Q, 163 V, 4.0 Writing, taking again (164 Q on last practice test)

Research/Work Experience: Summer research internship in biostats department at UMass Amherst, JPSM Junior Fellow at National Center for Education Statistics, research assistant in psychology lab, TA and grader in stats department

Applying to: 

University of Maryland Joint Program in Survey Methodology PhD-statistical track

University of Michigan Program in Survey Methodology Phd-statistical track

UMass Amherst biostats 

GWU biostats

Georgetown biostats

BU biostats

not sure if I should bother with PhDs for any of them