LOR Question!

Hi all,

I am applying to English and American Studies' PhD programs in the US. All of the schools to which I am applying require 3 letters of recommendation. I have one very strong LOR from an undergraduate professor (Ivy League, very reputable, well known in the field), one from a current master's professor which I believe should be pretty strong as well, and finally one letter from an old lecturer from my current master's program as well. This final letter is the one I am concerned about at the moment. Her letter is quite short and while it does explain I am a strong student, the content itself is not very in-depth. My question to the forum is as follows: will two strong letters of rec offset one OK letter of rec? Conversely, will one OK letter harm two great letters? As you may tell, I am anxious! Any advice would help. Thank you!!

I think I'm confused as to how you've seen your recommendation. It is usually expected that the recommendations be confidential and submitted directly to the program by the recommender. 

Is there anyone else who would be willing to write you a stronger recommendation than the tepid one?

1 hour ago, CaliAcademic said:

Sorry to be blunt, but that does not answer any of my questions. I am aware of how LORs work. This professor sent me a copy of her letter after she submitted for some reason. Didn't ask for it. 

Okay. But I also asked: Is there anyone else who would be willing to write you a stronger recommendation than the tepid one?

If you don't have anyone who'd be willing to write you a stronger recommendation than the one you already received, I'm not sure there's any point in worrying about it. If you *do* have someone willing to write you a stronger recommendation, I would approach them. 

I agree with vondafkossum; I don't think it's something to worry about.  But if you can find someone to write to a better recommendation, then go for it.