Academic Integrity Issue and Already Accepted Into a Program

jad1315

Question

Hi all,

To give a background to the title, I am currently a senior in my undergraduate university and am in an academic integrity case that claims I cheated on an online exam in one of my courses for the semester. Not to go into finer detail, but I did not cheat on this exam, however it is difficult to refute with the evidence they have and it will likely result in some form of sanction. By the university's policy, it seems like the sanction will likely result in an XF on my transcript that can be removed in 6-12 months and will just remain as an F. 

Also a part of this situation is the fact that I recently got accepted into a graduate program right before the case was brought up. Before any sanctions, I was planning on driving to the university, explaining the situation in full and both sides on the case, and hoping they might understand the situation. Without going into the details of the case, does anybody have any advice if this is a good idea considering the scenario? I'm coming into the situation expecting the worst (an XF and loss of acceptance) and hoping for the best, but am trying to be realistic considering the scenario. If I lost my acceptance, I would likely take a year off to get the XF removed and try to find work in the field (physical therapy) and do my best with the situation. 

If anybody has any advice on the situation in general as well, it would be much appreciated. Thanks for anyone taking the time to read and/or respond as well.

5 answers to this question