Discouraged, Bored, and Probably Overreacting

Rockerika

I apologize in advance if any of this sounds like the griping of a big ego or someone whining about the consequences of their odd situation. My intention here is advice and insight from other grads on my genuine reflections on my recent career, not to brag or be a pompous ass who doesn't appreciate what he's got. I also appreciate that in many ways, my problems are created by my inability to get into particular programs given the tight admissions climate and my own profile.

I am a doctoral student in a small state political science program. I am reasonably confident that I will be able to find a teaching job after completion, as this program is specifically targeted towards producing PhD holders that are attractive to teaching focused schools with a broad approach and pedagogy requirements. I also have an MA, meaning when I finish this program I will have been in grad school for six years, with adjuncting experience in between and on top of my studies. 

I am about to comp for the second time in American, Comparative, International Relations, and Political Theory, after which I am ABD. I am confident I will be able to pass comps, assuming I can get through the American section. My passion is history and philosophy of politics, especially surrounding technology and how it relates to power in society. The primary reason I'm still in political science as a discipline has more to do with job prospects vs. history or philosophy programs than actually identifying with the mainstream of political science. I care a lot more about teaching than I do research, which I really see the same way as many faculty do about teaching, being something required by the job but not my forte. That being said, I do intend to go for a 4 year school as I really like the collegiality of having a program and seniors vs. the more temporal way community college teaching can be.