Retaking the GRE after obtaining Masters Degree

hopefulmastersstudent

I took the GRE twice before applying to Masters programs in clinical psychology, and my highest scores were 150V 154Q and 5.0W (first time taking it was 150V 150Q and 3.5W). I was accepted into a masters program and I plan on applying to PhD programs next application season after obtaining my masters degree. I know my scores are relatively low for the PhD programs I plan on applying. However, I am wondering if it would be worth it to take the GRE for a third time, or if the GRE won't matter as much applying to a clinical psychology phd program when I will have a masters in clinical psychology. My current graduate GPA is a 4.0, I have lots of research experience and will obtain clinical experience soon, and I have presented numerous posters at conferences. If the GRE is supposed to predict how well people do in graduate school and I already have my GPA to prove that I did well despite my scores, is my GPA and experience enough to combat the low GRE scores?

Thank you to whoever responds! I can't find anything about this anywhere.

If you suggest taking the GRE again, can you provide helpful resources that will actually boost scores? I couldn't get my Verbal score higher.

• 2 weeks later...

First off, great job on your masters GPA; it must’ve taken a lot of steady effort. I think the question regarding retaking the GRE depends on the competitiveness of the program you want to go to. I wasn’t always a ranking snob, but having picked a lower ranked medical school (for its location) over a higher one, I have learned the hard way and recommend that you strive for the best program you are of capable of getting into. I believe the quality of the faculty and, to an extent, the students really makes a big difference in how much you will enjoy your graduate school experience. This will be reflected on the curriculum you will go through and the support group and network you have around you.