Choosing between University of Toronto and CMU for Statistics PhD

Sergio.zz

Hi everyone, 

I just received the PhD offer from CMU stats department, and I am so happy with that. However, now I am facing a difficult decision between choosing to stay at University of Toronto for my PhD (where I did my undergrad)  or go to CMU for a new adventure.

My current research interest is more about: 1. Applied Bayesian inferential methods. 2. Statistical Computations. 3. Machine learning and Data Science. And my future plan is to find a faculty position in statistics.

The pros for UofT: 

1. I am an international student, so staying at uoft makes it more possible for me to get the PR card in Canada, while the PR card in US is a bit impossible...

2. I did my undergraduate study at here, so I know the faculties at this university very well. And I have been matched with my preferred supervisors whom I have already worked with and felt good working with, while CMU currently did not match me with any supervisor yet.

3. There will be five years of full funding package which includes full-tuition plus 20k stipend per year for UofT, while CMU's offer only describe my full funding package for one year (full tuition + 3.1k stipend per month), and based on their student handbook it seems like the funding from CMU usually only lasts for four years...

The pros for CMU:

1. Higher ranking in Statistics, especially in Machine learning and Data Science.

2. Based on the suggestions from my professors, if I want to continue my career in academia, it seems like it would be better for me to not go to the same place for both undergraduate and PhD... But I am not sure how important that factor is

3. Probably the winter at Petersburg will be more approachable than in Toronto...

Could anyone give me some suggestion on how to make this choice? Any suggestions is appreciated! Thanks so much!