MFA-Theatre Pedagogy

Russell A

Hello. Long time lurker, first time poster here. I graduated from Undergrad last May with a BA in Theatre (Acting/Directing Concentration) and have been apprenticing under the Artistic Director of a small theatre company in Ohio. I am seriously researching grad programs, with the intention of applying for the fall of 2021 academic year. As of now, I've been looking into programs that would give me adequate training as both an artist and an educator. I am very passionate about directing, theatre history, and the overall study of actor training, and am just looking for programs that could benefit those interests. My ultimate goal is to teach theatre at the university level. As of now, I have this list of what seems like excellent programs for me:

1. Long Island University Post-MFA in Directing

2. VCU Richmond-MFA in Performance and Pedagogy

3. Sarah Lawrence-MFA in Theatre

4. Texas Tech-MFA in Performance Pedagogy

5. Emerson MA/MFA in Theatre Education.

I have also done research on Virginia Tech and Brooklyn College's directing programs, but feel a little unsure of following up with them since I don't have an extensive "real world" directing resume (Post was the first grad program that didn't mind it). 

If anyone has any advice, first hand knowlege, etc on these programs, or if they know about other grad schools that may have slipped under my radar, please feel free to let me know. 

• 2 months later...

Hi Russell!

I know this has been sitting for a while, but I'm a new member who is also looking into Theatre Education (alongside possible directing or MA/Phd programs) for fall 2021. Emerson is absolutely also on my list. BU has a really intimate Theatre Education program as well where you can design part of your own course of study to focus on your area of interests. Good luck with the searching and application process!

Thanks Frey. I've heard great things about BU, I may just have to do more research.