2020 Oxford MPP vs Sciences Po - SIPA Dual Degree Programme

Hey guys, hope this grad season is faring well with everyone! 

I just got offers from two of the programmes for the coming year (hopefully the virus outbreak won't affect my plans). If someone could provide some insights into how they compare (in terms course design, career opportunities, how these programmes are perceived in the field), that would super helpful! 

1. Oxford Blavatnik School Master of Public Policy 

• 1-year programme

2. Dual Degree Sciences Po Master in Public Policy & Columbia SIPA Master of Public Administration

• 2-year programme, 1 year in Paris and 1 year in New York

Some background: I studied undergrad in the UK and graduated not long ago so I don't have super extensive work experience. I am interested in working in international organisations that will allow me to access developing countries but may also take up further studies, either a Doctorate degree or perhaps a J.D. in the US. 

Thank you all in advance. 

Edited by studyislyfe

I think the oxford MPP has great brand value and is shorter, which I think is great. That said, if you’re looking for hard skills, it isn’t the best place to be. 

The dual degree is great I think cause it gives you in on two diverse job markets and even study settings.

Hi folks I am an Indian applicant with about 5 years of policy relevant experience. I need advice weighing the options that I have for grad school, the ones I am considering closely, are: 

1. Fletcher MALD - I have a decent fee waiver, but it will still cost me another USD 100K (all expenses included). I like that the course is flexible and I can literally learn anything that I wish but I don’t want to be in the US and with the visa issues, don’t expect to be able to stay back in the country.