BSW 2020 Admissions

On 4/5/2020 at 9:54 PM, radiatepositivity said:

amazing! hope you get in! I was wondering what type of experience do you have? I just graduated this year.. I was hoping to do a masters but I missed the deadline so I applied to BSW

Thanks! 

I have an undergrad degree in psych, and a social service worker diploma. I've been working in the field for the last 7 years on two different crisis lines, worked as a walk-in mental health counsellor, and have been working in justice services recently doing release from custody case management and court support. 

I'm hoping it works out this year, because I don't think I'll be trying again lol

• 2 weeks later...

Hi! Thought I would join the conversation! I have applied to two MSW programs previously with no success. My gpa is rather low. I thought about applying to the Dal online BSW. I think it is a good option to improve my grades and go into an advanced standing MSW. I wonder how competitive the Dal BSW is. 

I was told by admissions they have around 85 spots and 260 applicants for the online program. I am worried because I just reach the B- in the last 2 years of my undergrad (minimum requirement) however I have four years experience working in the field. She also said they are looking for a balance between academics, statement, experience and references. Fingers crossed to you all. I will be applying for 2021, and other MSW programs. Have any of you looked into UManitobas online BSW? 

Best of luck to you, I just genuinely dislike how they are not going to get back to us till mid May! I am waiting on Carleton and I just made the minimum gpa requirement (B) for them. They are starting to reach out to people this week! No I have not looked into Manitoba but if I do not get in this year I am going to figure out another plan!