Money Matters

LobsterQuadrille

Help & advice needed from international and domestic students.....

I am an international student and will be starting MS EE program in US. Money is definitely the next thing to reckon after admissions. I'd like to know how to do international students manage their finances.

Many questions coming up:

How to pay the college fee,... credit card or any other way?? Which is a good method??

How to convert international currency into $$$, the most efficient (money saving) method, since the us $$ is costlier??

Do international students open a bank account there??And how to??

The best money pinching methods for managing books, clothing, supplies, food, housing etc... (domestic students, please help with this.....smile.gif)

How much money to carry on arrival??

Please add more words of advice if you can.

I'm not an international student, but maybe I can help a bit. Is EE environmental engineering?

Opening a bank account is easy and usually doesn't cost anything, so definitely do so. There are often free student checking accounts at major banks. A checking account will be necessary for direct deposit of your stipend and also for paying bills (rent, utilities, etc.) Debit cards are also very convenient. As for how much money to carry on arrival, I wouldn't carry more than a couple hundred dollars unless you have a reason to carry more and I would promptly deposit that in my new checking account, sometimes they require a minimum balance of about $100. I very rarely use cash for anything and I don't have any credit cards, it's all on the debit card. *Edit: I just realized that it might be as long as a month after arrival before you get your first stipend check, so you might want to have more cash on hand to get you through.