Machine Learning - Statistics vs CS PhD

I am going to be applying to PhD programs for next year. My background is that I went to an Ivy League school and majored in OR. After college, I am working as a software engineer and have taken some math classes to beef up my profile. I am planning on taking the Math GRE next fall.

My interests lie in machine learning and modern statistics. Some areas that I may want to work on down the line are optimization, variational inference, robustness and theory of deep learning. The research I find most meaningful both develops new algorithms and provides theoretical guarantees. I am not interested in working on specific applied areas such as NLP, computer vision, robotics.

Should I be applying to statistics or CS programs? What are the best programs to do more statistically rigorous, theoretical machine learning research?

Looking at course requirements in statistics programs, it looks like many schools (Stanford, University of Washington, UChicago, etc.) require advanced probability or measure theory sequences which may prove useful but are much more important for someone doing research in classical statistics, program evaluation or stochastic models. Course requirements in the CS programs at these same schools look incredibly flexible, allowing me to take whatever courses I would want across several departments. But I am finding that most of the research papers I find interesting tend to be by professors with joint CS and statistics appointments and many times require a very deep statistical background.

Edited by harry_stats