Advice for applying phd Philosophy 2021

sadegh1370

Hello

I am an international student and have two MA in philosophy (first one was a two years program back home and the second one was a one year program at Western University in Canada). I want to prepare my application for the following year (aiming Fall 2021), and have some questions and hope that people who passed this process could help me out:

1. My first question is regarding the importance of GPA. My undergrad GPA is not good and it was in another field (mechanical engineering), but my first in my first MA, I got 4 and in my second MA, I got 3.83. In my second MA I just have one B in first semester and all other grades are A according to the grading scale of Western University. I'm worry that might have negative impact on my application since I have an eye for some descent PhD programs.

2. How much GRE grades are important? I've recently started to study for GRE and want to take it in September. I wonder that how much GRE score is important so I can devise a good plan for it.

3. According to my GPA and let's say I manage to end up writing a good paper, can I consider top programs in my AOI or that would be highly improbable.

Thank you in advance for reading this thread. If you have any suggestions that help me to improve my application please do not hesitate to share.

1. I wouldn't worry too much about your grades. 1) There's nothing you can do about them. 2) Your MA grades are fine. 3) Grades aren't huge factor in philosophy admissions (compared to other fields)

2. GRE is a negligible component of your application, so long as you're not way below the median. If you're near or over the 80th percentile in all categories, it probably won't count against you