English or Comp Lit or just something else?

I studied English/Philosophy as a BA and just finished my first year as an English MA student and I keep hearing my MA thesis topic is very comp lit or even comparative religion?  Its almost not English at all (very French-German Critical Theory instead).

I'm thinking of applying to those programs instead of English for my Phd because I really like the theory emphasis and have met a few comparative lit professors who do exactly what I would love to do and more of an openness to theoretical theology. 

But I don't know what to do. Is it worthwhile to apply to both English and Comp Lit phd programs this December? And if so, which programs? My thesis advisor is strongly pushing a comp lit or die narrative now but the only problem is my languages.... suck (however,  am addressing that right now but arabic is killing me). Alternatively, my favourite professor seems scared of Comp Lit and wants me to stick with English. 

I'm really confused and struggling because I'm getting completely different mixed singles. I'm really, really having a hard time, especially during COVID, and its really weighing down on me,
not sure what I want to do...and feeling like everyone wants me to go their direction. 

11 hours ago, antigone_ said:

Alternatively, my favourite professor seems scared of Comp Lit and wants me to stick with English.