Advisor moving to new uni?

_returningjour

I never thought I would be in the center of such drama... 

So my professor decided to move to a new university..
And I'm considering my options whether to:

1. Go with my advisor
2. Switch to new advisor and stick with the current phd program
3. Don't switch advisor, stay on with remote phd mentorship (time zone difference is a killer: Asia Pacific- US California)

Short background:
I met my advisor as a colleague 10 years ago in U.S. while I was doing master's. (advisor was a PhD student back then.)
Then I graduated and got a job. Worked for 5 years.
During this time, my advisor had graduated, joined and left a industry job to start his post-doc in a new university. 
His work place and the postdoc univ. were both nearby my neighborhood, so we would to occasionally meet up for a coffee and beers to catch up.

Then he became a professor in Asia and asked me whether I would be interested in starting a phd under him, I thought about it for a while and decided to try it.
I followed him to Asia because I trusted his expertise in the field, work ethics and professionalism that I saw during our years of interesting discussions.
Now I'm 2 years into the phd program and he got an offer from a US university (~top 20 rank in USnews, ~100 rank in QS world rank for my area).
The current Asian university is ranked top 10 in QS world universities for my field.

I originally decided to start this program because of my advisor.
But I'm worried whether a US university would recognize my academic standing as a 3rd year phd student.
Will they ask me to retake quals and start from 1st or 2nd year phd? 

Anyone with similar experience? Any word of advice?

What option would you guys choose with the situation I'm in?

52 minutes ago, _returningjour said:

Will they ask me to retake quals and start from 1st or 2nd year phd? 

Anyone with similar experience? Any word of advice?

What option would you guys choose with the situation I'm in?