Which PhD programs are right for me? (+Profile Eval)

Hi everyone,

New GradCafe member here. I am currently a rising junior undergraduate who will potentially begin applying for Statistics PhD or related programs next year (applying for programs that start in Fall 2022). Although this is still a ways away, I am posting my profile here in order to get some advice about what sort of graduate program I should look for and how I can improve my profile for a better chance at admission before I apply. I am pursuing a PhD because my main goal is to become a professional researcher. I have several questions, so I will include these at the end.

Undergrad Institution: State university (under top 200)

Major: Data Science

Minors: Mathematics, Economics

Current GPA: 4.0

Type of student: Domestic white male

GRE: (have not taken yet)

Relevant Courses (current GPA is 4.0 so all either A or A+)

Math / Stats: Calculus III, Discrete Math (proof-based), Linear Algebra, Scientific Computing, Probability, Math Modeling, Exploratory Data Analysis, Mathematical Statistics [graduate-level]

**Taking this year: Advanced Calculus I, II (aka Real Analysis), Numerical Analysis I, Matrix Methods for Data Analysis (aka Advanced Linear Algebra), High-Performance Scientific Computing [graduate-level], and at least one more graduate course

CS: Object-Oriented Programming II, Data Analysis and Visualization, Software Design, Algorithms and Data Structures, Machine Learning

**Taking this year: Databases, possibly another graduate course

Economics: Principles of Micro, Macro

**Taking this year: Intermediate Micro, Econometrics

I also plan to take a few more economics and math classes before graduating in order to complete my minors.

Recommendations: I am confident that I will be able to get reasonably strong recommendations from math and CS professors

Research: