PhD Waitlist for fall 2020

Mvem

I was Waitlisted since early April in one of the US schools for fall 2020 and I was told i will hear back on or before April 15th which never came,they were completely silent . In the month of May my POI contacted me citing Pandemic issues and asking if i am still interested in the PhD so that he can schedule a follow-up interview which i accepted but also never came(he failed to get back to me after i confirmed continued interest).

Should i still contact him asking for any latest info or do i have any hope at this time ?...Should i ask if Spring admit is feasible since the school grants Spring admit only if a student has a willing supervisor for an RA role...I am an International student

Mvem, 

I'm sorry to hear that you were put into the back of the pile due to the pandemic. How often did you contact your POI after he asked for the follow up meeting? In my experience, many professors have had their workload significantly increase due to Covid, and your email may have gone unnoticed if you only reached out once. I am surprised you waited for this school in particular, was it the only one you applied for? 

At this point, it honestly depends on the professor. Some may tell you to reapply for next year, some may accept you with open arms for the spring (but may or may not be able to give you funding, remember that), and some may not reply. At this point, you may also want to contact the graduate advisor of the program and ask these questions to him or her. They may have a better understanding of why a decision based on your application was never finalized. With the trickiness of international admits right now, it may be extra hard for you as well. 

But overall, you won't know unless you ask! Do try, and the worst thing is that you get delayed a bit further in your studies. Best of luck to you! 

• 3 weeks later...
On 8/27/2020 at 5:46 AM, Phoenix88 said:

Mvem,