Covid-19's effects on classics programs for 2021?

TaciturnTales

Does anyone have a feel for how the pandemic is affecting funding/admissions for classics programs for the 2021 cycle?

I am struggling with making decisions right now. My eventual goal is to get an MA in Classical Archaeology in order to pursue museum work (yes, I realize that I will likely need a PhD to curate, but I am not experienced enough to apply for one just yet). After being interviewed for two assistantships through the museum affiliated with the school that I was planning to attend this fall, only to have their funding pulled and no one hired because of the pandemic, I am very discouraged.

My thought was that I would begin applications for the 2021 cycle, but now I am unsure if the stress, time and expenditure would be worth it for a cycle with decreased admissions and funding opportunities. I quite simply cannot afford graduate school without funding. Although I have decent GRE scores (at least, verbal and writing), two bachelor's degrees with very high GPAs, archaeology lab experience, museum work experience, and teaching experience...I do not have a background in Greek/Latin or in archaeology courses geared specifically towards ancient history. Although I do spend about three hours a day studying Latin and am making decent progress, I realize that this might not impress an admissions committee without a list of ancient literature that I have read/studied.

Do I go ahead and apply for 2021 and hope for the best? I do have a chance of at least being admitted to some of the programs that I have on my list. Or should I just put it off for yet another year and spend that time making myself a more competitive candidate and, thus, broaden the number of programs to which I could apply?