Yet Another GRE Question

floortile

Hello all,

I am a prospective theory student who will be applying to a few top-ten programs and need some advice on whether to submit GRE scores to programs which have made it optional. I got a 168/170 V and 6/6AWA (98th and 99th percentile), but a 147/170 on my Quant (25th percentile). I will not have a chance to rewrite the test for this admissions cycle. Is it worth submitting these scores with an explanation in my personal statement regarding the quant score (I was a very poor student in high school and was out of school for years before returning to uni, had to begin my GRE studying by relearning basic arithmetic, and just did not have time due to pandemic to prepare for the GRE-specific math).

My professor is encouraging me to submit the scores. He thinks they will help contextualize my GPA, which is high but from an unknown non-US university, and that given my interest in theory, they might be willing to brush past the low quant score.

As an aside, can anyone give advice on whether it is appropriate to reach out to faculty members with this question. I 1) don't want to seem unprofessional by soliciting personalized advice and 2) don't want to reveal that I, a student with an incoming application, have a very poor quant score if it is indeed going to hurt more than help my application.

I should add that I am looking at Yale most specifically in regards to this question.

Thanks

Edited by floortile

I will say this; if you are applying with a degree from a select few foreign top-universities such as Oxford, Cambridge, LSE, SNU, and a few others I will encourage you not to submit your scores. Schools like LSE and SNU place a very high number of students in US phd programs and US adcoms will know what to look for when they receive applications from students with that background. That means that even without a GRE score adcomes will know what a competitive student looks like from those programs.