Any advice on psychology PhD applications?

Ran_Chen

Hey guys, I'm a first-year master student. Currently planning to apply for PhD in 2022Fall but also considering to do it this year (I know it's late!). I would like to hear your suggestions about anything that need to know before I apply for any program.

Below is a brief description about myself:

First-year master student at Penn,interested in trauma and cross-cultural. I did poor in my GRE and exam is just not the right thing for me haha. I have done a few researches but did not publish anything. Currently doing a field research. I would like to apply for counseling, social psychology, education psychology, or development psychology.

I'm an international student, and policies related to international students made me feel a little bit concern. The covid-19 also brings up lots of unsure things, and I know some universities have budget problems. And then...I really want to enter into a top program, but don't know how to get started.

Hey, if you want to give a try and apply to 1-2 schools (if you have the money and time), just try out. You are in a good school and have research experience. You can choose schools that waive GRE if you think it would be a problem (I am a bad test taker so I know what you mean). Trauma and cross cultural, what are the literature that you read? Look up at the authors name, and find the idea of what school do they teach. Counseling is commonly a practitioner-science based, social and development are both science, and educational-depends on the university. Are you looking to study refugee and immigrants? 

Yeah I am international too. the situation and upcoming election is concerning. But if you really want to try, you can and have time for at least 1 application or 2. Good luck.

The GRE is waived for a lot or programs this year.