How to mention professors in SoPs

Hi all,

I am an international student applying to political science PhD programs (in the US) this year. I am now doing some last-minute editing of my SoPs for schools that haven't closed their online applications. I have a question about how to address professors in SoPs properly and concisely. I've read some example SoPs by native speakers, but they mentioned professors in four different ways:

1. (no title) full name throughout

2. Dr./Prof. full name throughout 

3. First mention of a professor: Dr./Prof. full name; further mention(s) of this professor: Dr./Prof. last name

4. First mention of a professor: (no title) full name; further mention(s) of this professor: Dr./Prof. last name

Which would be the most professional one?

Edited by XiJinping

• FuyuhikoSomeno changed the title to How to mention professors in SoPs

I would include the title at least once, preferably all times -- check out all of the tweets today on academic twitter regarding the WSJ oped on Dr Biden. Professors (particularly women in the professoriate) do not take kindly to others dismissing titles when they should not be dismissed, and for good reason. I think once you're accepted, it's fine to call them by the first name, but a SOP is a fairly professional document. It is probably not the end of the world if you don't do it, but it is somewhat of a touchy topic... 

Edited by timeseries

20 hours ago, XiJinping said:

Hi all,

I am an international student applying to political science PhD programs (in the US) this year. I am now doing some last-minute editing of my SoPs for schools that haven't closed their online applications. I have a question about how to address professors in SoPs properly and concisely. I've read some example SoPs by native speakers, but they mentioned professors in four different ways:

3. First mention of a professor: Dr./Prof. full name; further mention(s) of this professor: Dr./Prof. last name