International student; trash undergrad GPA. Will be taking an MA first, but should I even bother keeping my hopes up in terms of PhD prospects?

niftydigits

My lifelong anxiety and spells of depression (I do have documentary evidence-- diagnoses and stuff-- of these conditions now) took a serious toll on my undergrad grades. Was sorta in denial and didn't get help till my third (and final; I studied in the UK) and by then it was too late, especially with covid putting me through some of the worst lows of my life. For numerous reasons (shirked academic responsibilities; large chunks of grades were penalized for late submissions) I ended up graduating with a 3.0 GPA (or a 2:2 in the UK grading system).

I'm now taking a year off to fully address these issues and generally feel like I am at the start of what seems to be an upward trajectory. Now, post-treatment, I know I can get into an MA program in Europe with these scores-- not a great one, but I know I can get in, esp. considering the other app. components required, and I really hope to get stellar grades this time round. Just to alleviate some of the stress about going on to do a PhD afterwards, I've also had a go at a few legit mock GREs, and I know I can easily get a GRE verbal between 166 and 170 (I got either a 169 or a 170 on every attempt so far). My quant score was much worse, around 155, but I honestly haven't used math in years and have plenty of time to bring that up to the mid-high 160s, too. Also, I've been told unprompted by professors that I could make a very good candidate for a PhD in future, so I feel like I have a decent chance at securing good LORs. But a 3.0 gpa, incl. two failed classes, is still an abysmally low score, and frankly, I don't think it's worth it in polsci to get a PhD outside of the T30 programs for my field, even from a plain job satisfaction pov (for me).