UNC vs Columbia

Jake

UNC vs Columbia graduate school for Statistics Hi guys~~

I will be graduating from UVa this year and got admitted from Columbia univ and UNC for statistics masters program. I have trouble with choosing the school between them

there are some keys that I seriously consider now.

1. tuition fees: Colum: 40000 per/year UNC: 20000 per/year

2. area atmosphere: Colum: dynamic UNc: calm and quiet

3. Alumni connection: which one would be better?

4. living cost: Colum>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>UNC

5. school reputation: Colum > UNC (right?)

6. program department reputation (statistics): maybe UNC>>> Colum

the biggest problem I have now is tuition fees. do you guys think there is enough opportunity to get a RA or other position in both school?

honestly, I think I cannot graduate from Columbia without financial help ( I am an international student so not able to get loan). lastly, I will continue to Ph.D program later on.

with all these considerations what do you guys think which school I go better with?

help me user_online.gif

Hey Jake,

I am not a Statistics person, so I don't know too much about that area. The only thing I can say is that the official U.S. News and World Report rankings put UNC's statistics program in the top 10, while Columbia's is in the 20s (see here http://grad-schools.usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/best-graduate-schools/top-statistics-schools/rankings). But I do agree that when people hear Columbia, they tend to think that it's more prestigious than UNC, but that probably depends on what group of people you are talking to. If you speak with Statistics professors, I am sure they have high regard for UNC if it's so well ranked.