Grad School Applicant Newbie

gradhelp

Question

Hi All! I am new here to both this forum and applying to grad school and could use some advice and possible assurance :). I graduated this December from a major public university with a major in social services. I received a 3.02. I have about four Ws on my transcript and two FS, and quite a few Cs. Two semesters in my early years of school I did very poorly due to a medical issue I was dealing with. When you look at my past 4 semesters though I have done quite well and clearly have an upward trajectory of increasing my gpa each year. Would you write an extra statement to the admissions team stating why you received those bad grades those 2 semesters or put it in your personal statement of intent....or just let it slide and hope for the best. I was dealing with extreme dizziness and neurological symptoms due to undiagnosed hypothyroidism at the time. Other than that I have multiple internships, practicum experiences, and volunteer work, and will be receiving great letters of recommendation. I am applying to a Counseling Master's Program and do believe this will help a lot! Also, other question! My application deadline is April 1st. Should I take the GRE at the end of February to see how I do (first time taking it) and then depending on how I do and seeing what I need to study take it again mid march? Or just study hard and take it once in mid march only? Thank you guys!

2 answers to this question