About submission of Masters transcript

Dear all...

I have received an admission offer with fund in the PhD program of University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) for Fall 2010. Currently, I am doing my Masters in Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET). My Masters thesis is almost complete and my thesis defense is going to take place in mid July, 2010. I have come to know, due to some procedural issues, the registrar office of my current university will take some time (it might take 3-4 months after thesis defense and they cannot make it faster due to some regulations) to issue the official transcript and certificate of Masters program. On the other hand, the offer letter which I received from UTSA says I must submit the official transcript and degree statement before PhD registration, otherwise holds will be placed on registration and the acceptance will become void!

Now, I am really very much worried about this issue. However, my MSc. thesis supervisor has assured me that he (or the Head of the Department or both) can issue a letter stating the completion of my thesis. I do not know whether they will accept these letters instead of the official transcript. However, I do have the official grade sheets of my completed coursework and registered credits for thesis work and I sent them earlier to UTSA. I have emailed to the professor of UTSA with whom I contacted earlier and waiting for her reply. I am really feeling helpless about the situation!

Has anyone faced such issues before? Can anyone come up with a suggestion about how to tackle this situation? Whom should I contact in UTSA about this matter?.....Please help!!