UK Philosophy Programs

dasein69

Hi There, 

I am currently an undergrad at NYU studying philosophy. I will likely end with a 3.6 overall / 3.5 philosophy (NYU phil classes are damn hard...)

I'd like to eventually get my Ph.D. but I feel it is wise to apply to some MAs first. Have people had positive experiences at UCL, Kings, LSE? I seem to meet their requirements with my grades, so I am inclined to apply.

I did a masters at Edinburgh (distinction in the programme and on my thesis) and am now accepted to the Oxford DPhil. 

I would rank the top UK masters programs as follows:

1) Oxford BPhil

2) Cambridge MPhil

3) LSE

4) Edinburgh/KCL/St. Andrews

7) UCL

Interspersing these with US programs I would have a top 5 that looks something like this:

1) Oxford BPhil

2) Tufts 

3) Cambridge MPhil

4) Brandeis

5) LSE

Tufts and Brandeis have the advantage of offering significant funding. You can certainly get funding at the others, but it is unlikely for American students, especially with your profile (e.g. lower than a 3.9X GPA). 

Edited by musicdegree4me

12 minutes ago, musicdegree4me said:

Tufts and Brandeis have the advantage of offering significant funding

This is interesting because even the 'significant' funding in the eyes of a person who did a masters in the UK is actually deemed to be insufficient by many masters applicants in the States. That is, they do not offer full funding and one has to still pay around thousands of dollars to pursue the degree; this means that they do not necessarily have 'advantage' over other programs such as UWisconsin Milwaukee, Northern Illinois University, and Georgia State University, which are the three best masters programs that offer full funding + tuition remission. They also all have excellent placement records (even though they might not be as good as Tufts -- they really are at another level).