Rockefeller vs MIT Neuroscience

snowbaby

My top two choices right now are Rockefeller U and MIT BCS, interested in neuroscience. My background is entirely computational with no wet lab experience. I recognize that it's a really good time to enter the field with strong computational/theoretical knowledge and MIT definitely has more computational/theoretical resources and PIs, however I feel that if I go to MIT I may be very tempted to stay too far from neuroscience and get pulled back to doing AI stuff, since it's such a dominant culture there. That being said, MIT obviously has its far-reaching prestige and its close connection with Harvard/BU/NEU makes a fantastic academic environment.

Rockefeller on the other hand is a traditionally experimental institute so it might be very risky to go there since doing experiments is pretty far out of my comfort zone, but afaik every neuro PI there has top-notch and ground breaking experimental work in whatever subfield they choose to research in. If it turns out that I hate doing experiments, does anyone know whether it's realistic to be an "in-house modeling expert" at a place where most people are doing experimental work? 

Thanks in advance!

Edited by snowbaby

I mean, Rockefeller has less computational folk relative to how much MIT lacks experimentalists. Go by your interests! Who has more PIs whose work you like? I'm both very experimental (10 years of wetlab work) but also very computational (two math degrees and strong programming) but I've always found it harder to successfully grow in a place that is too experimental and without computational people to continue to learn from. Some labs have in-house experts but why take that risk when you don't need to? A lot of experimental labs require *all* students to run experiments. Do you have a compelling reason for Rockefeller over MIT?