recommendation of masters

Hello, wish you can give me some suggestions.

I hold a bachelor degree with economic and mathematics double major from a US public school, and I am looking forward on applying a PHD in political science in US. my research interest is about formal theory, political economy, IPE, and communication. 

my main wish for getting a master is to have a systematic political science learning(elementary level), as I thought it is one of my disadvantage and a necessary step for me to get familiar with political science realm. I have taken econometric and some solid math courses before, like differential equations and real analysis, but very few statistic courses(only stochastic process and probability theory). 

so I was wondering if you can share any experience or comments, especially 3 concerns:

1. if i am interested in China politics, Is a master of Asian study/culture a good choice? Does UCSD help a lot? 

2. Is this a good option to get a master in statistics? cause it seems that political science is very quantitative.

3. is Duke's master of Analytical Political Economy is good option for me? cause i thought political economy is just s subfield of either political science or econ in most schools, so i am not very sure about this program.

thank you very much

Edited by Neil0098

If you are confident that your end goal is a PhD, I would try to apply directly to some PhD programs as well and have some Masters programs as a backup. Masters programs are incredibly expensive and I would get that if you don't get into school for a PhD, and feel comfortable paying that much for a Masters. 

If you still only want to do the MA programs then here's what I think: