How Much Language Experience is Needed for MA Funding?

Pasiphae

Hi all! 

I'm currently a rising undergrad senior who is looking to get a PhD in Classical Archaeology, primarily specializing in the Bronze Age Aegean; however, by the time I apply to graduate schools, I'll only be on my third year of Latin and my first year of Greek. Because I want to increase my chances for admission to a top program, I probably want to first go to a funded MA or post-bacc to both improve my languages and get more coursework. To get for an MA program, would 3/1 years of Latin/Greek be enough to secure funding? Or would post-bacc to PhD be a better path? Thanks!

I think I have found every Classics MA currently offering funding in North America. They all specify having a minimum of three years in one language and two years in the other language. Tulane mentions having three years in one language, and one year in the other language, but there certainly are applicants with stronger language skills who probably receive those spots.

People in this forum will probably advise a formal post-bacc, but the post-bacc programs are rather expensive.

You could DM me if you want more info.