Grades for Grad School?

Hi there! 

So I have my bachelors, but not in communication disorders. I am currently taking my prerequisite classes for grad school. However, I had to repeat my courses and it looks like I'll be receiving a B in most of them. I am very worried this will affect my chances for grad school admission. I work full time within special education and plan to spend some hours with the SLP there. 

I am asking, can experience within the realm of special education outweigh my (mostly B's) grades? 

Hello @vision4tmrw !

You can find this information on ASHA's Edfind. A few months ago, I went through the first 100 results (10 pages) of edfind, and a little under a third of the schools admitted students with a 3.0 (B) average or under. If that is true of the rest of the results, there could be almost 100 programs that would accept students with a GPA at or below 3.0. Keep in mind, this data is a few months old, so it might not be accurate any longer.

We can't really speculate as to your likelihood of acceptance at any of these programs, though, because there are so many parts to an application:

• Do you have glowing letters of recommendation from CSD professors that can speak to your abilities in the classroom, in research, and in the field? (here's more about letters of recc)
  • Do you have experience working as a SLPA, or in tangentially related jobs in which you regularly interacted with individuals with communication disorders? (here's a list of directly related and tangentially related job experiences)
  • Do you have research experience? Have you done an independent research project, or worked in a lab? Have you presented at a conference? A symposium?
  • Do you volunteer, and are you involved with student organizations at the local and national level? Have you held any leadership positions? (here's a list of other ways to get involved if you're looking for additional experiences)