Personal History vs. SoP

Hello, all! I'm a first-gen college student and the process of trying to move forward with graduate school is becoming an incredibly difficult and confusing set of tasks. 

I see that this board has some really amazing resources and tips for the Statement of Purpose, but I can't find too much about Personal History essays other than "let's swap" posts. I have no idea what the best way to tackle a PH essay would be, what to include, how whimsical to be. All of it is a total mystery to me.

Does anyone have any advice, tips, tricks, etc. for Personal History essays? ? Thank you!!

Not sure how helpful this is, but on the website of one of the unis I'm interested in they mentioned:
"The purpose of this optional essay is to get to know you as an individual and as a potential graduate student, and to understand how your background will add to the diversity of our school. Please describe how your personal background has motivated you to pursue a graduate degree."

I know that some SOP guides recommend mentioning significant life events (to stand out), but if some department requires a different personal history essay, then maybe that's where you should mention most of these things.

They also mentioned: "Please note that the Personal History Statement is not meant to be a general autobiography."
I have taken it to mean that if the SOP is an essay focused on the intellectual/academic reasons, then the personal history should focus on what happened in your life (outside of university/school) that motivated you.

Fair disclaimer: I haven't applied to any programs yet, so I'm not quite sure how right it is. I'd also like to know more if anyone else has any input.

• 1 month later...

Mildly resurrecting this post in hopes someone can help--

I have a general grasp on what the two are and how they differ, but I guess I'm now struggling with which information should go where.