Who should I choose for my third LoR?

Hi,

I'm applying to PhD programmes in statistics after an undergraduate degree in mathematics and a failed master's in a very different mathematical area. My adviser in said master's and a professor from the department with whom I took one class and two seminars are going to write rec letters for me, but I'm not sure which of these routes is best for my third rec letter:

1. A prof with whom I took a relevant class and got a great grade (99 in probability and 95 in real analysis, two different profs) but otherwise doesn't know me very well.

2. A TA from two classes (probablity and calc 1) who knows me better, has already finished his PhD and is now doing a PhD in mathematical data science at a top 50 institution.

3. A lecturer with whom I worked as a TA for five semesters and created reworked class notes.

Thanks!

13 hours ago, SteelBite said:

Hi,

I'm applying to PhD programmes in statistics after an undergraduate degree in mathematics and a failed master's in a very different mathematical area. My adviser in said master's and a professor from the department with whom I took one class and two seminars are going to write rec letters for me, but I'm not sure which of these routes is best for my third rec letter:

1. A prof with whom I took a relevant class and got a great grade (99 in probability and 95 in real analysis, two different profs) but otherwise doesn't know me very well.

2. A TA from two classes (probablity and calc 1) who knows me better, has already finished his PhD and is now doing a PhD in mathematical data science at a top 50 institution.

3. A lecturer with whom I worked as a TA for five semesters and created reworked class notes.

Thanks!