LOR Inquiry

cafec0nleche

Hi All,

I am curious about recommendation letters, would be great to hear from folks admitted to programs already or those that are familiar with the doctorate application review process (PhD or PsyD).

Did you use an academic reference? I completed my Masters in Clinical Psych in 2016 and then worked in my field for about four years before going to a graduate business program. I have two supervisors that can write to my clinical abilities, but I have lost touch with many faculty from my graduate level psychology program. However, I have one professor from business school that I took a couple of classes with that might be willing to attest to my academic abilities.

Should I choose the academic business school reference as my third letter writer in order to have a purely academic reference, albeit outside of psychology? Or someone who supervised me and worked with me in a research capacity in my old department. At the time she was a research fellow, but has since completed her fellowship and become licensed.

I'm not sure if it is critical to have an academic reference in the mix, and not sure if I should be concerned if they aren't in the field of psychology.

Thank you!

Edited by cafec0nleche

I would say that at least 2 of your 3 letter writers need to be academic, and specifically the ones who can speak to your ability to do scientific research if you want to do a PhD. I don't know that I would choose the business prof as a letter writer unless he/she is your third one, after two academics in the field. A clinical supervisor could be a good third letter writer, if you are applying to programs that are at least equally split if not heavily leaning more to practice than research, but I really don't think you can avoid having two strong letters from the profs you had as a Masters student.