chances to be TT professor?

paprica_lm

I graduated SAIC a few years ago and plan to apply for RISD (film/video) this year. My ultimate goal is to become a professor (don't care many years of adjuncting), but i just heard a lot of shitty things about TT positions. *No jobs and huge pool of cadidates* Are there anyone who wants to be tt jobs after graduation and have any insights on this? should i try hard to get adjunct or visiting stuff or invest in residency, fellowship, solo/group exhibits? i know one person who are adjuncting 4 years at the institution he graduated from and landed on tt job in small art school. do you think it happens alot?

10 hours ago, paprica_lm said:

I graduated SAIC a few years ago and plan to apply for RISD (film/video) this year. My ultimate goal is to become a professor (don't care many years of adjuncting), but i just heard a lot of shitty things about TT positions. *No jobs and huge pool of cadidates* Are there anyone who wants to be tt jobs after graduation and have any insights on this? should i try hard to get adjunct or visiting stuff or invest in residency, fellowship, solo/group exhibits? i know one person who are adjuncting 4 years at the institution he graduated from and landed on tt job in small art school. do you think it happens alot?

Yes.

On 10/22/2021 at 11:42 AM, paprica_lm said: